Reconciliation and Community: The Future of Peace in Northern Ireland

(Belfast, Northern Ireland, 1995)

Examined Northern Ireland’s unfolding transition in light of global experiences in overcoming legacies of conflict.


Antonio Navarro Wolff, President Democratic AllianceM19

Costa Rica

Oscar Arias, Nobel Laureate in Peace and former President of Costa Rica

Czech Republic

Jan Urban, Writer

El Salvador

Ambassador Ricardo Castañeda, Permanent Mission of the Republic of El Salvador to the UN
Ana Guadalupe Martinez, Vice President, National Assembly
Joaquin Villalobos, Former Leader of the FMLN Guerilla Movement
Carmen Maria Gallardo Hernandez,  Executive Director, FUNDAPAZ

Great Britain

Jon Snow, Channel 4 News


Arthur Koll, Political Counselor, Embassy of Israel, United Kingdom

Northern Ireland

Trevor Smith, Vice Chancellor, University of Ulster
Michael Ancram, MP Northern Ireland, Minister of Political Development
Reverend Dr. Gordon Gray, Christian Education Movement
Dr. John Alderdice, Alliance Party
Stephen McBride, Alliance Party
Reverand Dr. Roy Magee, Farset Youth and Community Development
John Robb, New Ireland Group
John Darby, Director INCORE
David Cook, Police Authority for Northern Ireland
Mark Durkan, Social Democratic and Labour Party
Ken Maginnis, MP, House of Commons
Jeffrey Donaldson, Ulster Unionist Party
Alex Atwood, Social Democratic and Labour Party
Bronagh Hinds, Ulster People’s College
Dr. Maurice Hayes, former Northern Ireland Ombudsman, Chairman, the Irelands Funds
Dr. Brian Keenan, Ulster Department of English
Gary McMichael, Ulster Democratic Party
Tom Hartley, Sinn Fein
Vani Boorah, Department of Applied Economics, University of Ulster
John Hume, MP Social Democratic and Labour Party
David Ervine, Progressive Unionist Party
Paul Arthur, Professor of Politics, University of Ulster


Hasan A Rahman, Chief Representative Palestine Liberation Organization


Hanna Suchocka, MP Former Prime Minister
Jerzy Wiatr, MP Deputy Chairman of the Democratic Left (SLD)
Jerzy Osiatynsky, MP Poland

Republic of Ireland

Fintan O’Toole, Writer
Michael Longley, Poet and Writer
Dick Spring, TD Tanaiste and Minister of Minister of Foreign Affairs for the Republic of Ireland
South Africa
Roelf Meyer, Minister of Provincial Affairs & Constitutional Development
Dullah Omar, Minister of Justice
Alex Boraine, Director, Justice in Transition in South Africa
Peter Gastrow, Advisor to the Minister for Safety and Security, Gauteng Province


Jesus Rodes, Former Director of the Police Academy of Catalunya

United States

Harold Saunders, Director of International Affairs, Charles Kettering Foundation
Raymond W. Kelly, Former Police Commissioner, New York City
James LeMoyne, United Nations Political Advisor on the Central American Peace Process
Joseph Montville, Director, Preventative Diplomacy Program, Center for Strategic and International Studies

Read full report.