Dealing with the Past

(Cape Town, South Africa, 1994)

Focused on confronting the legacies of prior repression, building democracy and fostering post-apartheid national reconciliation. Discussions at this meeting contributed to the subsequent creation of the South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission.


Juan Mendez, Head of Americas Watch, Argentina


Prof. Dimitrina Petrova, Director, Institute for Social and Environmental Research


José Zalaquett, Founder of National Commission for Truth and Reconciliation, Chile

Czech Republic

Prince Karel Schwarzenberg

El Salvador

Roberto Cañas, FMLN spokesman during the 1991 peace negotiations


Joachim Gauck, Federal Commissioner of the Gauck Commission, Germany


Prof. Andras Sajo, Legal Studies, Central European University


Stanley Cohen, Law Professor, Institute of Criminology, Hebrew University


Matembo Nzundu, Head, Department of Law, University of Malawi


Dr. Sergio Vieira, Centro de Estudos Africanos, Universidade Eduardo Mondlane


Helena Luczywo, Co-editor, Gazeta
Adam Michnik, Editor in Chief, Gazeta
Wiktor Osiatynski, Constitutional Advisor to the Polish Parliament

South Africa

Prof. Laurie Acherman, Constitutional Court Justice
Prof. Heribert Adam, Simon Fraser University
Hon. Kader Asmal, ANC Negotiator and government Minister, South Africa
Frances Biggs, SA Legal Defense Fund
Alex Boraine, IDASA, South Africa
Mary Burton, Human Rights Activist, Commissioner on the South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission
Fred Chikane, Secretary General, South African Council of Churches
Brian Currin, Lawyers for Human Rights
Prof. John de Gruchy, Department of Religious Studies, University of Cape Town
Prof. Johan Degenaar, Department of Sociology, University of Stellenbosch
Prof. Lourens du Plessis, Law Professor, University of Stellenbosch
Prof. Jaap du Randt, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Western Cape
Prof. Andre du Toit

Justice Richard Goldstone, Head of Goldstone Commissions, South Africa
Prof. Wilmot James, Department of Sociology, University of Cape Town
Dorothy Kahane, anti-apartheid activist
Michael Lapsley, Trauma Centre for Victims of Violence and Torture
Mbuyi Mhawuli

Dikgang Moseneke, Momentum Centre; Independent Electoral Commission
Paizoah Gcina
Nthato Motlana, anti-apartheid activist, businessman and Mandela family physician
Dumise Ntsebeza, anti-apartheid activist, lawyer
Nomonde Calata, widow of Fort Calata who was murdered by the apartheid security police in 1985
Andre Odendaal, Mayibuye Centre, University of Western Cape
Barney Pityana, Department of Religious Studies, University of Cape Town
Albie Sachs, Department of Community Law, University of Western Cape
Prof. Michael Savage, Executive Director, Open Society Foundation
Dr. Annette Seegers, Department Political Studies, University of Cape Town
Dr. FVZ Slabbert, Khula Investments
Lawrence Weschler, The New Yorker

United Kingdom

Bronwen Manby, Africa Watch

United States

Wendy W. Luers, President, Foundation for a Civil Society
Aryeh Neier, Open Society Fund
Eric Nonacs, Project Director, Project on Justice in Times of Transition
Timothy Phillips, Co-chair, The Project on Justice in Tunes of Transition
Tina Rosenberg, Author and Journalist, National Security Archives


Enoch Dumbutshena, Chief Justice, Harare