Policy Council

Beyond Conflict draws on the talents and advice of many distinguished individuals to help shape and develop its programming. Beyond Conflict’s Board of Directors, International Advisory Council and Policy Council significantly guide, influence and support our work.
William Alford, Professor, Harvard Law School
Bernard Aronson, ACON Investments
Brian Atwood, Dean, Hubert Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota
John Biehl, Department of Political Affairs, Organization for American States
Antonia Chayes, The Fletcher School, Tufts University
Aldo Civico, Center for the Study of Genocide, Conflict Resolution and Human Rights, Rutgers University
John Coatsworth,
 School for International Public Affairs, Columbia University
Jorge Dominguez, Weatherhead Center for International Affairs, Harvard University (ex officio)
Nir Eisikovits, Associate Professor of Legal and Political Philosophy, Suffolk University 
Nik Gowing, Journalist, BBC News
Deborah Harding, President, Liberian Education Trust and Former Vice President, Open Society Institute
Bryan Hehir, Secretary, Archdiocese of Boston and Professor, Harvard University
Bruce Hitchner, Chair, Peace and Justice Studies, Tufts University and Chairman of the Dayton Peace Accords Project
James Hoge, Chairman of the Board, Human Rights Watch and Former Editor, Foreign Affairs 
Ellen Hume, Journalist, Center on Media and Society, University of Massachusetts
Baroness Margaret Jay, Member, House of Lords, United Kingdom
Herbert Kelman, Professor Emeritus, Weatherhead Center for International Affairs, Harvard University
Frank Loy, Former Under Secretary for Global Affairs
Ram Manikkalingam, Department of Political Science, University of Amsterdam and Former Advisor to President Kumaratunga on the Peace Process, Sri Lanka 
Martha Minow, 
Professor, Harvard Law School
Joseph Nye, Professor, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University (ex officio)
Samantha Power, United States Ambassador to the United Nations*
Steve Reifenberg, Executive Director, Kellogg Institute for International Studies, Notre Dame University
Araceli Ruano, Former Senior Policy Advisor to Al Gore’s Presidential Campaign
Nancy Rubin, Former United States Ambassador to the United Nations Commission on Human Rights and Founder, Adopt a Mine Field
Karel Schwarzenberg, Former Foreign Minister, Czech Republic
John Shattuck, President, Central European University
Adele Simmons, Chicago Metropolis 2020
Anne-Marie Slaughter, President, New America Foundation
Saul Suster, Senior Advisor to President Flores, El Salvador
Sherman Teichman, Institute for Global Leadership, Tufts University
Carolyn Seely Wiener, Attorney at Law
Tim Wirth, Vice Chair, United Nations Foundation

*Currently on leave due to public service