International Advisory Council

Beyond Conflict draws on the talents and advice of many distinguished individuals to help guide, influence and support our work. The International Advisory Council consists of a diverse network of distinguished leaders from seventeen countries on five continents and includes four Nobel Peace Prize Laureates. This board also incorporates the expertise of six former Heads of State, five executive ministers and political party leaders, members of national and international judiciaries and transitional justice and reconciliation commissions. Members of the International Advisory Board regularly contribute their experience, knowledge and advice to advance and support Beyond Conflict’s programming.  

Wendy Luers, Chair International Advisory Council, Co-Founder, Beyond Conflict
José Maria Argueta,
Ambassador to the Organization of American States and First Civilian National Security Advisor, Guatemala
Oscar Arias,
Former President and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, Costa Rica
Paul Arthur, University of Ulster, Northern Ireland
Hanan Ashrawi,
 Palestinian Initiative for the Promotion of Global Dialogue and Democracy, Jerusalem
Kurt Biedenkopf, Former Minister President of Saxony, Germany
Thomas S. Blanton, Executive Director, National Security Archive, United States
Alex Boraine,Vice Chair, Truth and Reconciliation Commission, South Africa
Martin Butora, Institute for Public Affairs, Slovakia
Naomi Chazan, Former Deputy Speaker of the Knesset, Israel
Jose Maria Figueres, Former President, Costa Rica
Richard Goldstone, Former Chief Justice, Constitutional Court of South Africa and Former First Chief Prosecutor of the United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia and for Rwanda, South Africa
Mikhail Gorbachev,
 Former Secretary General of the USSR and  Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, Russia
Maurice Hayes
, Senator, Republic of Ireland
Vaclav Havel*, Former President, Czech Republic
Stephen Heintz, President, Rockefeller Brothers Fund, United States
Branka Kaselj, Director, Community Foundation Slagalica, Croatia
James LeMoyne, Former Special Advisor to the Secretary General of the United Nations on Colombia, United States
Nelson Mandela*, Former President of South Africa and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, South Africa
Roelf Meyer, Former Minister of Constitutional Affairs, and Former Chief Negotiator in the talks to end Apartheid, South Africa
Adam Michnik, Co-Founder, Solidarity Movement and Editor-in-Chief of Gazeta Wyborzca, Poland
Eric S. Nonacs, Senior Advisor, William J. Clinton Foundation
Shimon Peres*, Former President and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, Israel
Tanja Petovar, Oxford Leadership Academy, Serbia
Dimitrina Petrova, Equal Rights Trust, United Kingdom
John Podesta, Founder, Center for American Progress, Former Chief of Staff for President Clinton and Counselor to President Barack Obama, United States
Alan Riding, Journalist, New York Times, United States
Jon Snow, Anchor, Channel 4 News, Great Britain
Dick Spring, Former Tánaiste and Foreign Minister, Republic of Ireland
Rose Styron, Human Rights Activist and Poet, United States
Jan Urban, Co-Founder Chapter 77 Movement  and Journalist, Czech Republic
Lawrence Weschler, Author, New York Institute for the Humanities at New York University, United States
José Zalaquett, Member, the National Commission for Truth and Reconciliation, Chile

*In memoriam